There really are more of us than there are of them…

March 19, 2009

I admit it. I am a terrible speller. I think fast, talk fast and type fast. And sometimes the words just don’t come out right.

Ever get that feeling?

Well, in my day to day projects, I use several different checks and balances (mostly spellcheck and my business partner) to make sure that if anything is going to go out as final product, I was not the last person to proof the draft.

Well, on the odd occasion that I am writing about a “brand name” (which spellcheck tells me is wrong even if I spell it right) and my partner is out of the office; What happens then?

I MAKE ALOT OF MONEY THATS WHAT!

(Don’t worry. I’m going to explain in full)

Let’s start at the beginning…

If you are at all involved in internet marketing, you know about affiliate sales (quick refresher if you don’t: you agree to send traffic to someone else’s site or sell their product in exchange for a set fee or percentage), but most people think this refers only to ebooks. Not True…

Many many affiliate programs exist for the sole purpose of marketing physical products or non-ebook related services.

Now, on the internet there are many sources for quality traffic. The top 2 are: The Search Engines. I said 2, because there is paid and ‘organic’ search. This story focuses on organic search engine traffic.

A very popular concept in organic search marketing or SEO (search engine optimization) is that of ‘low hanging fruit’.

I prefer to call this, more specific-more eager. As an example: someone searching ‘cell-phones’ is likely just looking around/comparison shopping/price checking/ day dreaming etc… Someone searching for ‘Kyocera E1100’ is much more likely to make a purchase if they come across an acceptable deal (sidenote: this example was chosen specifically, because as kyocera is a mid-low price brand of phone, a good price is very likely to generate a sale! cheap=high impulse)

So a very common tactic is to optimize your web pages as well as possible for very SPECIFIC keywords (links, tags, on page content) And I like everyone else, engage in it because it works. Now remember, I said for organic SEO ONLY. Trying to bid on trademarked terms in pay-per-click is usually a big no-no.

But what does that have to do with being a bad speller???

Good question! Let’s bring this baby home-

Kyocera is not the world’s easiest name to spell (in fact wordpress says I have it spelled wrong now. See what I mean about the spellcheck?) and as it turns out, There really are more of us than there are of them… Bad spellers are everywhere, even on the internet, shopping for cell-phones.

Right now, there are over 57,000 entries for the search kyocera e1100 on Google. Now, even 57,000 results is a cakewalk to dominate with even decent SEO, but how many people do you think search for Kyosera e1100??(which btw- wordpress thinks is the correct spelling 😉 )

So, that’s my tip. There are more bad spellers online than there are very careful good spellers, and if you’re the only relevan mis-spelled result Google indexes, then you get placed first in the results. Seriously. If you optimize for Kyosera e1100 and someone searches for it the results list will be 1.-You 2.-10-Everyone who spelled it correctly.

So always keep in mind the common mis-spellings for your keywords if there are any (and there always are) and make sure to index for those too!

-TheSterlingGuy

p.s- The Phone

One Response to “There really are more of us than there are of them…”

  1. This is a really interesting approach which I had not considered. Too bad I am so good at spelling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

